Papaya milkshake, a childhood favourite

Everyone has a favourite summer drink. For some, it’s the Oreo milkshake from Byron, for others it is a lemon iced tea from the local cafe.

For me it is a papaya milkshake (木瓜鲜奶) from Hong Kong!

Papaya milk

Despite being born in the UK, I spent the first 4 years of my life in Hong Kong, eating and drinking all the local delicacies I could get my grubby mitts on.

One of my favorite childhood memories is going to Kowloon with my dad and drinking a litre of freshly made papaya milkshake. I remember the creamy sweet hit followed immediately by an intense bout of brain freeze!

 

Going back to the motherland this summer, I tried various versions from a range of vendors. However, NONE came close to the experience I had during my childhood.

Feeling disappointed, I decided to do some research to recreate the perfect papaya milkshake. After multiple failures (epic failures in that!), I have finally found the perfect recipe:

 

Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 large, ripe papaya (de-seeded);
  • 140 ml milk;
  • 200g (half a tin) evaporated milk;
  • a handful of softened ice cubes

Method:

  • Select a large and ripe papaya (it’s ready when you can smell the papaya from a distance!);

 

  • Peel and de-seed the papaya
  • Take a handful of ice-cubes and let them partially melt (if they are too hard you will struggle to blend them!);
  • Add all the ingredients to a blender;
  • Blend for 30 seconds on a high speed;
  • Drink till your hearts content!

IMG_20150530_191826

 

Leave a Reply

